The Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) has created this remarkable set of virtual laboratory activities for scholars of all ages. Designed as part of its BioInteractive series, the labs cover bacterial identification, cardiology, immunology, and even stickleback fish evolution. Each one of
the labs has a tutorial, along with a set of activities designed to help scientists learn more about the biological processes involved with each
one. Visitors can browse the offerings here by topic or search all of the labs for specific details.
סדרת הרצאות מדעיות מוקלטות ע"י מומחים עולמיים ומלוות במצגות.
This talk series will cover the Principles of GLP, which are an integral part of the 1982 Council Decision and the only international standard for non–clinical health and environment safety studies, as well as the compliance monitoring procedures used in OECD and adhering countries and the international framework which ensures mutual recognition among governments of national compliance monitoring programmes, and, thus, safety data submitted from abroad for regulatory purposes.
This premier collection exhibits how to use standard pieces of laboratory equipment essential in many experiments, as well as how to perform basic laboratory functions. Each video is paired with additional video resources for you to view practical applications of the technique and other complementary skills.
This is a peer reviewed, online journal devoted to the publication of biological research in a video format .
This is a peer reviewed, online journal devoted to the publication of biological research in a video format, providing valuable professional information for laboratory scientists. The aim of the journal is to increase the reproducibility and the efficiency of research in the biological sciences. Also indexed in Pubmed.
The MicrobeLibrary (ML) is a peer-reviewed, digital media center for undergraduate microbiology sponsored by the American Society for Microbiology, a professional, life science society with more than 38,000 members in the United States and abroad.
The American Clinical Laboratory Association (ACLA) is a not-for-profit organization created in 1971 which offers members the benefits of representation, education, information and research. Its primary purpose is to:
Advocate laws and regulations that recognize the essential role that laboratory services play in delivering cost-effective health care;
Encourage the highest standards of quality, service and ethical conduct among its members; and
Promote public awareness about the value of laboratory services in preventing illness, diagnosing disease, and monitoring medical treatment.
"ASCLS serves as the voice of all clinical laboratory professionals, creating a vision for the advancement of the clinical laboratory practice field, and advocating the value and the role of the profession..."
CLMA provides leadership in the clinical laboratory industry supporting laboratory professionals at any stage of their career. The association educates and advocates on behalf of members, and plays a leadership role in enhancing the image and increasing the visibility of the laboratory management profession.
The International Federation of Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine (IFCC) is a worldwide, non-political organization for clinical chemistry and laboratory medicine. As such it has a range of roles that include (1) global standard setting in collaboration with other international organizations, (2) supporting its members through scientific and educational endeavour, and (3) providing a series of congresses, conferences and focussed meetings in order for laboratory medicine specialists to meet and present original findings and best practice.
The National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences (NAACLS) is committed to being the premier international agency for accreditation and approval of educational programs in the clinical laboratory sciences and related health professions through the involvement of expert volunteers and its dedication to public service.
Join AACC in Houston at the world's largest gathering for laboratory medicine to connect with global leaders in clinical chemistry, molecular diagnostics, mass spectrometry, translational medicine, lab management, and other areas of breaking science and hear vital research while learning about important changes in the field.
Clinical Laboratory News HD is the mobile version of the American Association for Clinical Chemistry’s monthly news magazine for clinical laboratory professionals, physicians, research scientists, and other individuals involved with clinical chemistry and related disciplines. Published for more than 35 years, Clinical Laboratory News is the authoritative source for timely analysis of issues and trends affecting clinical laboratorians, clinical laboratories, and the practice of clinical laboratory science.
Designed for students in health professions (medical, nursing, allied health) learning to record and interpret medical lab values from Complete Blood Chemistry (CBC), Complete Metabolic Panel (CMP) and Arterial Blood Gas (ABG).
Quick LabRef for Android (Quick Clinical Laboratory Values Reference) provides quick look at the up-to-date information on the most commonly used clinical laboratory values and other useful relevant information such as lab data in Microbiology, Physiology / Pathophysiology, Toxicology and etc.
The Division of Laboratory Systems’ initiative includes:
- A report on the current status of laboratory medicine in the United States, which provides a detailed overview of the key factors affecting the field of laboratory medicine today and those that will shape the field in the coming decades.
- Development of methods to review, evaluate and make evidence–based recommendations for best practices in laboratory medicine.
- Pilot testing the feasibility of a laboratory network to identify evidence based practices.
A free resources from NIH providing information on 390,000+ chemicals including synonyms and structures. Search by registry number, name, molecular formula, structure, physical and toxicological properties.
Provided by the US National Library of Medicine this resource provides information on over 339,000 compounds of biomedical and regulatory interest. Chemical property and toxicity information is included.
MLabs and the Department of Pathology Laboratories at the University of Michigan offer a full range of tests and services. Our faculty have expertise in all disciplines of Pathology and are available to provide consultation to referring physicians.
מאפשר חיפוש אחד בו זמנית במספר מאגרים מדעיים ובהם Impact Factor, Medline , Biosis Previews ועוד.
Includes several scientific databases and enables a single search query in all: citation indexes in science, social science and humanities; Journal Citation Reports (Impact Factor); Medline ; Biosis Previews; and more
As with the resources listed above, this website allows you to search or browse by test name. Critical values can be found by clicking on the "Therapeutic Guidelines" button. The website also has guidelines related to the collection of specimens.
The number of clinical laboratory tests available to health care providers increases every year. New tests may replace older, traditional tests or they may provide important additional information. Thus, acquiring and maintaining expertise on the proper use of clinical laboratory tests requires continual effort. Mayo Medical Laboratories Interpretive Handbook is a concise resource that can help with this challenge. For the tests offered by Mayo Medical Laboratories, it provides interpretive guidance, along with necessary background clinical information to place the tests in proper context. The information for each test is prepared by a Mayo Clinic expert with direct oversight of that test.
This site from the U.S. Dept. of Labor's Occupational Outlook Handbook outlines what it's like to work as an MLT. In includes information such as education, salaries, and the need for MLTs in the future. Includes information on phlebotomy.
מאגר מידע המאפשר לבצע חיפוש פטנטים בתחומי הביוכימיה וכימיה ואפשרויות חיפוש נוספות. מלבד חיבור לרשת האוניברסיטה יש צורך לבצע רישום לאתר על מנת לבצע חיפושים.
SciFinder is a research discovery tool with a wide diversity of research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more like References from more than 10,000 currently published journals and patents from more than 61 patent authorities .
CDC’s Office of Safety, Health, and Environment and the National Institutes of Health periodically publish and update several national publications on Biosafety: Biosafety in Microbiological and Medical Laboratories (BMBL) and Primary Containment for Biohazards: Selection, Installation, and Use of Biosafety Cabinets.
For more than 20 years, since it was first published in 1983, the Laboratory Biosafety Manual has provided practical guidance on biosafety techniques for use in laboratories at all levels.
For this new edition, the manual has been extensively revised and expanded. The manual now covers risk assessment and safe use of recombinant DNA technology, and provides guidelines for the comissioning and cetification of laboratories. Laboratory biosecurity concepts are introduced, and the latest regulations for the transport of infectious substances are reflected. Material on safety in health-care laboratories, previously published elsewhere by WHO, has also been incorporated.