Library Guides List: International Health and Medicine: Home

What's in this portal?

This portal is dedicated to health issues in developing coutries and populations. We put the focus on diseases and conditions such as AIDS and Tropical diseases. We also try to link to data and information on the general social and political situations in these countries. For basic clinical databases, books and websites please visit our Medicine portal. You can also use our guides on Writing and Citing , Searching and more.

The text in Hebrew can be read with the "translate" function of the browser.

Featured article series

New England Journal of Medicine has a series of review articles on global health. The series is built around articles that explain the need for global health, the challenges to achieving it, and the solutions to problems related to it.
The meaning of the term global health has evolved over time. In developing this series, the concept of global health as “public health for the world” is adopted.

A Global View of Health — An Unfolding Series
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Introductory article
Global Health - list of review articles
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Aids and HIV

AIDS Education & Training Centers
more...less...
The AIDS Education and Training Centers conduct targeted, multidisciplinary education and training programs for health care providers treating persons living with HIV/AIDS. This website provides a central repository for AETC program and contact information and for training materials developed within the AETC network.
UNAIDS - Data Collection and Analysis Guidelines
more...less...
A series of introductory and expert guidelines for individuals and organizations involved in monitoring and evaluation issues.
UNAIDS works to build political action and to promote the rights of all people for better results for global health and development. Globally, it sets policy and is the source of HIV-related data. In countries, UNAIDS brings together the resources of the UNAIDS Secretariat and 10 UN system organizations for coordinated and accountable efforts to unite the world against AIDS.
World Health Organization - HIV/AIDS
more...less...
WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.

Point of Care Clinical Database Search

Point of Care Clinical Databases Search

Databases

For basic clinical database click on the Database tab.

Case Studies in Primary Health Care
אתר אינטרנט
more...less...
This course introduces students to the origins, concepts, and development of community-based primary health care through case studies from both developing and developed countries. As in clinical bedside teaching, we use real cases to help students develop problem-solving skills in practical situations. We also discuss participatory approaches in the organization and management of health services and other factors such as equity, socio-cultural change, environmental protection, and the process of community empowerment.

Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
מאגר מידע בטקסט מלא
Political Science Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
מאגר מידע בטקסט מלא
Political science : journals, monographs, conference papers.
Political Science Complete (PSC) provides full text for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals), many of which are unique to the product. The database also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 36,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
Political Science (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
מאגר מידע בטקסט מלא
Political science

POPLINE
אתר אינטרנט
more...less...
Publications from 1970 to the present with selected citations dating back to 1886. Provides worldwide coverage of population, family planning, and related health issues, including family planning technology and programs, fertility, and population law and policy. In addition, POPLINE focuses on particular developing-country issues including demography, AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases, maternal and child health, primary health care communication, and population and environment.

Pubmed
חיפוש במאגר הכולל קישורים לפריטים בטקסט מלא ברשת האוניברסיטה או מידע על זמינות המאמרים/כתבי העת.

Remote Access to E-resources - MAC & iPad

Useful Links

CARE
אתר אינטרנט
more...less...
CARE is a leading humanitarian organization fighting global poverty. We place special focus on working alongside poor women because, equipped with the proper resources, women have the power to help whole families and entire communities escape poverty. Women are at the heart of CARE's community-based efforts to improve basic education, prevent the spread of disease, increase access to clean water and sanitation, expand economic opportunity and protect natural resources. CARE also delivers emergency aid to survivors of war and natural disasters, and helps people rebuild their lives.
CDC Center for Disease Control
אתר אינטרנט
Disaster Information Management Research Center - NLM
מאגר מידע
more...less...
מאגר המארגן מקורות מידע בריאותי ורפואת חירום בהקשר לאסונות טבע מקריים ואסונות מכוונים.
***
DIMRC is tasked with the collection, organization and dissemination of health information resources and informatics research related to disasters of natural, accidental, or deliberate origin.
Doctors Without Borders
אתר אינטרנט
more...less...
אתר אינטרנט של הארגון Doctors without borders, העוסק בפעילות רפואית הומניטרית ביותר מ-60 מדינות במטרה.
***
International medical humanitarian organization working in more than 60 countries to assist people whose survival is threatened by violence, neglect, or catastrophe.
Global Atlas of Infectious Disease
more...less...
In a single electronic platform, the WHO’s Communicable Disease Global Atlas is bringing together for analysis and comparison standardized data and statistics for infectious diseases at country, regional, and global levels.
Global Burden of Disease
more...less...
Global Burden of Disease analysis provides a comprehensive and comparable assessment of mortality and loss of health due to diseases, injuries and risk factors for all regions of the world.
Global Health Council
אתר אינטרנט
more...less...
The Council works to ensure that all who strive for improvement and equity in global health have the information and resources they need to succeed.
***
The Council works to ensure that all who strive for improvement and equity in global health have the information and resources they need to succeed.
International Health (MedlinePlus)
London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine (LSHTM) - Research Center
בית ספר לרפואה טרופית
more...less...
LSHTM Research Online is freely accessible online database of research conducted by staff from London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine. Where possible we will provide access to the full text of research articles, where we are unable to provide the full text we will hold the bibliographical information and provide links to where the full text can be accessed. While each full text item remains the property of the copyright holder reuse of the material within LSHTM Research Online is permitted for private and non commercial study.
Measure DHS (Demographic and Health Surveys) - PUBLICATIONS
אתר אינטרנט
more...less...
The project has provided technical assistance to more than 260 surveys in over 90 countries, advancing global understanding of health and population trends in developing countries.
MedlinePlus - International Health
אתר אינטרנט
more...less...
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
You can use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition.
TDR - Research and Training in Tropical Diseases
אתר אינטרנט
more...less...
TDR, a Special Programme for Research and Training in Tropical Diseases, is a global programme of scientific collaboration that helps coordinate, support and influence global efforts to combat a portfolio of major diseases of the poor and disadvantaged.

International Health and Medicine: Home