There is a wide range of AI tools with unique strengths and uses. It's advised to try out several of them and choose which suits your particular field and research needs. |
Given the rapid expanse of AI agents, our lists do not cover all existing tools, but do offer those that we found to be most contributive to research in personal use. |
Most of the tools on the market work on a Freemium model - certain usage is free, while additional features are only available to paid subscribers. |
In any case, feel free to consult with the library staff for additional information. |
 A popular language model developed by OpenAI. Allows dialogue with artificial intelligence for information mining, answering questions, writing code and text, performing text analysis tasks such as summarization and data extraction, and more. |
A language model from Google. Allows human-like responses in chat and real-time access to the internet, information mining, high-level text analysis and generation, image search, and more. Has good support for the Hebrew language. |
A language model from Anthropic that allows chat conversation with artificial intelligence, performing text-based operations, managing and analyzing information, uploading and working with text files, and more. Excellent support for the Hebrew language. |
An AI-based language model from Microsoft. Allows chat dialogue and receiving information mined from the Bing search engine. Incorporates the use of highly-recommended DALL-E image generator. |
|
The new language model can certainly compete with the more well-known LLMs out in the market. We were particularly impressed with its programming capabilities, although for content creation, we still prefer Claude. Keep in mind that with regards to privacy, this model - being originally from China - there is even more uncertainly than usually with these models. |
An internet-connected language model that allows work in a model adapted for academic work. In addition to the usual LLM capabilities, this model also provides direct links to information sources it relies on. |
|
AI-Based Search Engines |
||
|
An AI-powered search engine for academic articles available online. This engine works with research questions, presents informative snapshots with references directly from the used sources in response to queries, and provides links to relevant articles.
|
|
|
|
An AI-based tool for searching academic sources available online. This tool can analyze input text and suggest articles that support the claims found in the text.
|
|
An AI-based research tool that performs thorough literature survey based on a research query posed in natural language. Purported to specialize in complex queries and deep searches.
|
|
AI Tools for Research Field Mapping |
|
|
An AI-based bibliographic mapping tool. This tool bases off a main article uploaded by the user and uses it to create a visual map of bibliographic items in the field researched in the article. The tool provides links when possible, bibliographic details, citation information, and references to additional sources. |
An AI-based ibliographic mapping tool. It works with keywords and creates a visual map of secondary sources while grouping findings by related topics. Provides links to articles, bibliographic details, and research contexts. |
|
An AI-based bibliographic mapping tool. This tool bases off a main article uploaded by the user and uses it to create a visual map of bibliographic items in the field researched in the article. The tool provides links when possible, bibliographic details, citation information, and references to additional sources. It also can create bibliographic lists. |
An AI-based bibliographic mapping tool. This tool bases off a main article uploaded by the user and uses it to create a visual map of bibliographic items in the field researched in the article. The tool provides links when possible, bibliographic details, citation information, and references to additional sources. It also can connect to Zotero. |
|
A browser add-on from SciSpace. Enables chatting with webpages, summarizing and translating content, searching for relevant articles, and more from the browser itself. |
|
An in-browser PDF reader add-on from Google. Capable of extracting outlines from the content in bullet points with each point linking to the relevant passage.
|
|
A powerful tool for creating presentations using AI technology. The tool works based on prompts, creates design, text, and images, suggests changes upon request, and allows you to "ask" the tool for necessary changes.
|
|
A new AI-based feature on the well-known Slidesgo (presentation templates website). This add-on can create a presentation of up to 8 slides with a simple prompt, and provides an excellent basis for starting work. |
|
An AI-based tool for creating graphs based on data files. You can "chat" with the file, design graphs, draw conclusions from the data, and more.
|
An AI technology-based tool for creating excellent infographics from files uploaded to the system. Good for creating posters, presentations, diagrams, etc.
|
An AI-based tool that enables the creation of visual aids such as flowcharts, graphs, timelines, and more.
|
|
A collection of AI-based tools originally designed for students with ADHD, but since have become popular among students worldwide. The tools include a To-Do list, a fluent rewriting tool, a teaching tool, a pros-and-cons list creator, a tool that extracts tasks from text, and more.
|
A virtual notebook by Google that allows organization and management of information sources, links, and videos. It's also possible to explore files using a built-in AI chat, and to synthesize different information files into a podcast for convenient listening. |
A dedicated tool for brainstorming, creating mind maps, and encouraging ideation. The tool has a powerful AI assistant that can suggest topics, organize them, prioritize hierarchically, etc. The tool also enables collaborative work on a single diagram for multiple participants.
|
|
AI-based transcription tool. Israeli development. Works excellently in Hebrew, allows downloading text files in various formats. Recently added features include connecting to online meetings, simultaneous transcription, and synchronization with WhatsApp. Included in MEITAL's technological basket. |
|
AI-based transcription tool. Provides transcription of video meetings and audio files, allows summarization of text and asking questions about the transcript content. |
|
AI-based transcription and meeting summary tool that interfaces with many online meeting providers. Records, transcribes, summarizes, offers insights and follow-up actions from the meeting. Although it requires local installation on the computer and the transcription is not among the most accurate, the summary is excellent and the free subscription is generous. |
|
AI-based transcription tool. Supports Hebrew and Arabic. Allows editing of transcriptions and exporting text files.
|
This guide was last updated on 01.12.2024
The field of Generative AI constantly evolves and so are its resources.
Do you have a app/website/resource to recommend? Write us at yaatz@bgu.ac.il and we'll add it.
