Incision and drainage is the primary therapy for cutaneous abscess management, as antibiotic treatment alone is inadequate for treating many of these loculated collections of infectious material. Most localized skin abscesses without associated cellulitis can be managed with simple incision and drainage and do not require antibiotic treatment. Cutaneous abscesses have been described in all areas of the body, but are most commonly found in the axillae, buttocks, and extremities. This outpatient procedure is appropriate for many office settings, as well as for urgent care and emergency department practice environments. Diagnosis of a skin abscess is the first step.
MEDtube is now the world's largest online repository with high-quality multimedia content of clear practical and educational value, counting over 11.000 professional medical videos. The resources are provided by physicians, clinicists, medical societies, healthcare universities from all over the world. MEDtube community (over 30,000 registered HCPs) contribute to the idea of sharing medical knowledge. MEDtube is free to use by the community of professionals (registration is required).
This page provides links to prerecorded webcasts of surgical procedures. These are actual operations performed at medical centers in the United States. The videos last an hour.
International e-learning website offering first-rate educational content in all fields of minimally invasive surgery provided by world-renowned experts.
Procedures Consult is a robust, online procedure reference tool that offers easy access to complete details on how to prepare for, perform and follow up on the most common procedures required in today's hospital setting. Procedures Consult covers the procedures required by the ABIM (American Board of Internal Medicine) and conforms to ACGME standards to help physicians and residents to consistently achieve the best patient outcomes.
Procedures Consult:
--Offers high-quality illustrations and multi-media for each procedure
--Is browsable and searchable for quick and easy access to any procedure
--Highlights when patient “informed consent” is required
--Is customizable, for institution-specific protocols and procedures
--Provides time-effective, self-directed procedures training and testing—with trackable results
--Reinforces Joint Commission patient safety concepts
--Provide Pre-, During, and Post-procedure reference
These podcasts are comprised of interviews, patient testimonials, condition or treatment highlights, surgical videos, and many other subjects presented by the experts at HSS.
A series of podcasts produced with the help of the University of Alberta in Edmonton, Canada. The podcasts are intended to serve as brief introductions or reviews of surgical topics for medical students.
Procedures Consult is a robust, online procedure reference tool that offers easy access to complete details on how to prepare for, perform and follow up on the most common procedures required in today's hospital setting. Procedures Consult covers the procedures required by the ABIM (American Board of Internal Medicine) and conforms to ACGME standards to help physicians and residents to consistently achieve the best patient outcomes.
Procedures Consult:
--Offers high-quality illustrations and multi-media for each procedure
--Is browsable and searchable for quick and easy access to any procedure
--Highlights when patient “informed consent” is required
--Is customizable, for institution-specific protocols and procedures
--Provides time-effective, self-directed procedures training and testing—with trackable results
--Reinforces Joint Commission patient safety concepts
--Provide Pre-, During, and Post-procedure reference
The idea behind this service is the realization that reference in daily clinical life is often difficult. Frequently, there is little time during a hospital day to consult books or journals, or even to perform a literature search in order to gather evidence for a decision. The AO Surgery Reference allows surgeons to access much of the body of surgical knowledge for reference purposes during their clinical work.
The idea behind this service is the realization that reference in daily clinical life is often difficult. Frequently, there is little time during a hospital day to consult books or journals, or even to perform a literature search in order to gather evidence for a decision. The AO Surgery Reference allows surgeons to access much of the body of surgical knowledge for reference purposes during their clinical work.
GenSurgCall is written by a General Surgeon for Residents and Registrars interested in or working in the field of General Surgery. It is intended to be a quick and portable reference during busy on-call/on-take shifts. It includes scoring systems, lists, photos, videos and text on common conditions that are likely to be encountered.
A major improvement since version 2.0 is the addition of interactive clinical decision support, now with 24 items. The system can easily be expanded to facilitate guideline implementation in a fast and individualized manner. Furthermore, NeuroMind 2.1 now contains a 113 scores that are relevant for your neurosurgical practice.
Based on the official WHO Safe Surgery checklist, this app supports three check moments in the operating room to increase surgical safety, and decrease the number of complications.
Mobile app for Surgical Neurology International, an open access, Internet-only journal that rapidly publishes the latest developments in the field of neurosurgery and related clinical and basic neurosciences.
The app offers free access to our articles, blog posts, societies topics, videos and social networks.
The mission of the Society is to enhance the ability of cardiothoracic surgeons to provide the highest quality patient care through education, research, and advocacy.
