Library Guides List: Communication: Newspapers &amp; Journals

Contact Us

Hanit Shemesh-Boterashvili 08-6461405
Olga Lovtsov 08-6477939
Narmina Abdulaev 08-6477939
Camila Timoteo 08-6477939
E-Mail: hevrah@bgu.ac.il Social Sciences Reading Room (4rd Floor)

Links to Social Sciences Guides

Links To General Guides

Newspapers in Arrane Library

Arrane Library has newspaper resources that vary from important historical studies to social and cultural insights of different eras.

In this guide you can find information about online journals the library has access to, newspapers in microfiche form in the audiovisual room as well as free-to-access newspapers in the library.
Daily newspapers, and monthly magazines – Aranne Library has access to PressReader – An online platform to read newspapers and magazines on a variety of fields and in different languages. Among the fields - design, games, art, entertainment, health, automobiles, fashion, food, gardening, history and science, family, LGBTQ+, sport and more.

Notable newspapers:

Hebrew newspapers – Haaretz (in Hebrew and English), The Jerusalem Post, Israel Today.

International newspapers – New York Post, Independent, The Daily Telegraph, The Washington Post, The Guardian.

Magazines - Forbes, Vogue, Vanity Fair, National Geographic, GQ, L’Express.

The PressReader platform enables users to download an app and browse content from their mobile phones.

מפתח ממוחשב של העיתונות היומית This link opens in a new window
The Daily newspaper Index holds bibliographic references to articles in Israeli newspapers from 1993 to the present day. Among the indexed newspapers: Yedioth Ahronoth, Haaretz, Maariv, Makor Rishon and more. (Database is in Hebrew)

PressReader This link opens in a new window
PressReader delivers full issues of various newspapers and magazines

The National Library Newspaper Collection

Every newspaper publisher in Israel is obliged to send two copies to the National Library. As a result, the National Library has a massive collection of Jewish and Israeli papers. The National Library holds papers from the 17th century until today.

Historical Jewish Journalism

The site holds hundreds of Jewish newspapers in a variety of languages from different countries and times.

African Newsstream This link opens in a new window
African Newsstream offers full text access to newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the region. The database includes backfiles as far back as 1988.Access to the latest news and developments from a variety of titles including The International Herald Tribune, Africa News Service, BBC Monitoring Africa and more.
British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspapers published during the 18th and 19th centuries in towns and major cities.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Compact Memory This link opens in a new window
The portal Compact Memory comprises 500 Jewish newspapers and journals of the German speaking area of the years 1768–1938 and beyond. These periodicals represent the complete religious, political, social, literary and academic spectrum of the Jewish community and the "Science of Judaism", thus constituting a major source for the research on Judaism in the Modern Age.
Gale News ONEFILE. This link opens in a new window
This innovative full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, and many other fields. Gale OneFile News provides access to more than 2,300 major world newspapers, and includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Jerusalem Post (Online) This link opens in a new window
Israeli English newspaper.
Middle East Newsstream This link opens in a new window
"Full-text newspaper database that includes sources in English and French from the Muslim world back to 1988".
Newspapers.com Library Edition - World Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to historical newspapers, dating from the early 1700s into the early 2000s. Contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States and other countries, including Australia, Canada, England, Ireland, Northern Ireland, and Panama.
Nineteenth Century Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This guide provides a list of 19th century periodicals available online. These periodicals have been digitized and made available to the general public by various institutions. Many of these periodicals also ran before and after the 19th century.
The Palestine Post This link opens in a new window
Israeli English newspaper.
Regional business news This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage for regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States from 2002.
The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Founded in 1902 as a supplement to The Times (London), for more than 100 years the Times Literary Supplement has forged a reputation for fine writing, literary discoveries and insightful debate. From Anglo-centric beginnings in 1902, by the mid-20th century the TLS had developed into a truly international publication, with contributors from every region of the world.
U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The titles offer researchers thorough and timely coverage of local, regional, and world events with journalistic balance and perspective. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985. This database is available on the ProQuest platform. Coverage: 1980 - current

AP Archive.
Coverage and format: 1929 to date. Film and video from the Associated Press, ABC News, other sources owned by AP. Many records available, but much remains to be digitized

Elephind.com: Search the World's Historical Newspaper Archive

The purpose of Elephind.com is to make it possible to search all of the world’s free digital newspapers from one place and at one time. A work in progress. From the 17 to 21 centuries.

Europeana: Newspapers

A project that will, over a period of 3 years, provide more than 18 million newspaper pages to the EUROPEANA service. Explore the headlines, articles, advertisements, and opinion pieces from European newspapers from 20 countries, dating from 1618 to the 1980s.

ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers: International Collections

Newspaper Digitization Projects. Links to past, present, and prospective digitization projects of historic newspapers, 292 publications dating from 1649–2015.. The focus is primarily on digital conversion efforts, not full-text collections of current news sources.

Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers

 The collection comprises out-of-copyright, orphaned content, and includes titles such as al-Ikhāʼ (Syria), al-Bilād al-Saʼūdīyah (Saudi Arabia), Tangier Gazette (Morocco) and La Vérité (Algeria).

Newspapers SG

Current and historic Singapore and Malaya newspapers. You can search digital archive of newspapers published between 1831-2009, or find information on over 200 newspaper titles in the National Library's microfilm collection.

Trove

Australian newspapers online

ca. 1803-1995 Exact dates vary by newspaper

Arabic Newspapers in the National Library

An important collection of periodic publishes in Arabic that appeared in Israel/Palestine from the beginning of the 20^th century

Jrayed – Arabic Newspaper Archive of Ottoman and Mandatory Palestine

“Jrayed” is a digital archive of newspapers and magazines in Arabic the were published from the beginning of the ottoman rule in Israel to the end of the British mandate in Israel. The archive holds many papers that offer a variety of political, cultural, religious, .social and economic ideas. The archive holds daily newspapers as well as weekly, monthly and quarterly papers

Al-Ahram Digital Archive

Founded in 1875, Al-Ahram is one of the longest-running newspapers in the Middle East. It has long been regarded as Egypt’s most authoritative and influential newspaper, and one of the most important newspapers in the Arab world, with a circulation of over 1 million. Prior to 1960, the newspaper was an independent publication and was renowned for its objectivity and independence. After being nationalized by President Nasser in 1960, Al-Ahram became the de facto voice of the Egyptian government and today the newspaper is managed by the Supreme Council of Press.

Newspapers in Microfilm form can be found in the audiovisual archive on the 3^rd floor of the library.

To order items from the archive please email ruach@bgu.ac.il.

You may order up to 3 scans a day, and no more than 6 a week. Scans may take up to 3 workdays to be delivered.

Examples of newspapers in the archive:

Newspapers Name	Years in the microfiche archive
Haaretz	June 1919 - December 2015
Yedioth Ahronoth	June 1979 - December 2015
Maariv	June 1991 - December 2015
The New York Times	September 1851 - September 1995

Communication: Newspapers & Journals

Library resources in Communication

Contact Us

Links to Social Sciences Guides

Links To General Guides

Newspapers in Arrane Library