מיקרוביולוגיה ואימונולוגיה: דף הבית

On-line library of images for biology and human anatomy.

The MicrobeLibrary (ML) is a peer-reviewed, digital media center for undergraduate microbiology sponsored by the American Society for Microbiology, a professional, life science society with more than 38,000 members in the United States and abroad.

From American Society for Microbiology.

Created by the Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI), the Virtual Bacterial Identification Lab provides interested parties with a great way to learn about the science and techniques used to identify different types of bacteria based on their DNA sequences. Visitors can enter the lab and get started by preparing samples from a patient, copying the desired pieces of the DNA, and then sequencing and analyzing the DNA. The entire
experience is quite interactive: visitors can record their observations in the Notebook area and also learn about the various samples, which were obtained from stool, lymph nodes, urine, and blood. Finally, there's the
Reference area, which contains a glossary of terms, a list of tools in the lab, and an encyclopedia of selected bacteria and other pathogens.

Interactive cell models, puzzles, quizzes, and more.

eLS (formerly known as the Encyclopedia of Life Sciences) is a monthly-updating reference work containing over 4,800 specially commissioned, peer-reviewed and citable articles written by leaders in the field. It offers comprehensive and authoritative coverage of the life sciences for students, lecturers and researchers alike.

Microbiology, Fifth Edition

Lansing M Prescott, Augustana College
Donald A Klein, Colorado State University
John P Harley, Eastern Kentucky University

Microbiology, 5/e
Lansing M Prescott, Augustana College
Donald A Klein, Colorado State University
John P Harley, Eastern Kentucky University
Note other resources in left column of glossary site. Search Web for other glossaries.

NIH Common Fund project that aims to characterize the microbial communities found at several different sites on the human body, including nasal passages, oral cavities, skin, gastrointestinal tract, and urogenital tract, and to analyze the role of these microbes in human health and disease.

MicrobeWorld is an interactive multimedia educational outreach initiative from the American Society for Microbiology that promotes awareness and understanding of key microbiological issues to adult and youth audiences and showcases the significance of microbes in our lives.

A wiki done by students and faculty on a range of topics relating to microbes, from phylogeny to mythology. The information is contributed by any registered user but is reviewed for accuracy. An easy-to-use site.

Recommended reading in molecular biology. The latest books. Book reviews. Tables of contents. Extracts. Information and resources for molecular biologists at all levels.

The Microbiology Network provides expert consultation, microbiology quality assurance training, and expert witness services to CGMP pharmaceutical, medical device, and over-the-counter companies around the globe. Founded by Scott Sutton, Ph.D. in 1996, Microbiology Network, Inc. specializes in services to the regulated industries.

Fungi and the infections they cause are covered. Many photos. From a professor in Australia.

PubChem is a free NCBI resource providing information on the biological activities of small molecules and a a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.

מאגר פרוטוקולים במדעי החיים ובביו-רפואה המכיל למעלה מ-18,000 פרוטוקולים. כמה עשרות בחינם.

***
Electronic database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences. Some ar free.

***

The MicrobeLibrary (ML) is a peer-reviewed, digital media center for undergraduate microbiology sponsored by the American Society for Microbiology, a professional, life science society with more than 38,000 members in the United States and abroad. The scientific scope of the library covers the microbiological sciences as outlined in the ASM curriculum guidelines updated by the ASM Task Force on Curriculum Guidelines for Undergraduate Microbiology Education in 2011. The guidelines span six overarching concepts — evolution, structure and function, pathways, information flow, systems, and impact of microorganisms. All content is peer reviewed for scientific accuracy, instructional value and visual and/or audio clarity. The primary target audience is microbiology educators, although some sections may be appropriate for students.