Skip to Main Content
Librarians
Please contact an expert librarian from the library staff list
For general inquiries:
Tel: 08-6461111/2
Email: yaatz@bgu.ac.il
Whatsapp 
Facebook 
Mail: P.O.Box 653, Beer-sheva 8410501, Israel
Open Access (OA) publishing provide free and open access to academic research products (journals, books, reports, theses, etc.)
OA Models
Gold
Publishing on gold model involves funding, financed by the researcher or academic institution. Payment allows readers free access to the article. The journals titles are listed on the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ).
Green
Deposit of research material in an institutional archive (Institutional Repository). In this model the article is open to everyone free of charge. The deposit of the academic material takes place during the embargo period or the upload of the pre-print version before publication.
Hybrid
Published on the hybrid model incorporates the option of choosing between subscribing to the journal or alternatively paying a fee from research funds to the individual article if there is no subscription for the journal.
Advantages of Open Access Publishing
Disadvantages of Open Access Publishing
How to Identify Predatory Journals
It is important to look carefully at:
For publishers policy you can look at SHARPA/ROMEO web site
The library has new contracts for the year 2024 with publishers, for publishing articles in Open Access with no APC (article processing charge) to BGU faculty (or with a discount). It is advised to submit the article with your BGU email, so that the publisher can identify your affiliation and the option for free publication will be offered automatically.
Publishing in Open Access can increase the readership and visibility of your research and help to find more potential collaborations and recognition.
How to apply? After peer review, researcher will be asked if he wants to publish in Open Access, his approval automatically will publish the article in OA. The researcher is required to submit the article through BGU email. Please note, that in most agreements the "Corresponding author" is the eligable for full coverage of the APC.
AIP
An agreement for publishing in hybrid OA journals, with no APC costs.
ACM
An agreement for publishing in an ACM conference of journal with no APC costs. The author has to be the corresponding author and use their institutional email address when submitting their work. For more information.
Brill
The University has a Read & Publish agreement and institution researchers are entitled to the full collection and uncapped OA publishing in all Brill journals (hybrid and gold).
Collections from Brill Journals include the fields of history, theology, Asian studies, Biblical studies, Middle East and Islamic studies,Classical studies, international law and human rights collection and Biology collection.
Cambridge University Press
The Company of Biologists
BGU University has a Read&Publish agreement to unlimited publication (hybrid and gold). After peer review, researcher will be asked if he wants to publish in Open Access, his approval automatically will publish the article in OA. The researcher is required to submit the article through BGU mail.
De Gruyter
An agreement for publishing in hybrid OA journals, with no APC costs.
Emerald
An agreement for publishing in hybrid OA journals with a 10% discount in the APC costs.
IOP Publishing
Corresponding authors affiliated with BGU are eligible for full coverage of APC An agreement for publishing in hybrid and gold journals
Karger
Corresponding authors affiliated with BGU are eligible for full coverage of APC and Authors ChoiceTM publication fee and all additional publication costs for articles published in full Open Access hybrid and gold journals (subscription journals with an Open Access option) of Karger Publishing.
How to submit your paper to Karger Publishing.
Portland Press
An agreement for publishing in hybrid and gold OA journals, with no APC costs.
SAGE
SAGE Publisher has agreement with BGU to publish in hybrid Open Access in 900+ journals (SAGE Choice) at the cost of £200 or a 20% discount in the gold OA journals. SAGE invite authors to the SAGE Open Access Portal to take additional steps needed to make their article open access under the terms of this agreement.
SPRINGER
Under the agreement with Springer Nature Journals, BGU researchers can publish articles in OA in the publisher hybrid titles at no cost. The agreement does not include Nature branded titles, nor Gold (fully OA) titles. Titles that transfer from hybrid to gold status ("flipping titles") will be included under the terms. Introduction to the open access publishing services. For all the details.
Taylor & Francis
Under the agreement with Talyor & Francis, BGU researchers can publish articles in OA in the publisher hybrid titles at no cost. Gold (fully OA) titles are exluded from this agreement.
Open Access Agreement for Authors in Israel (tandfonline.com)
Ben Gurion University Supporting OA Publishing
Laison Librarians –
Natural and Engineering sciences – Dorit van Moppes | dvm@bgu.ac.il | Tel. no. 08-6477532
Social and Management sciences – Hanit Shemesh Boterashvili | shemeshb@bgu.ac.il | Tel. no. 08-6461405
Humanities – Valerie Khaskin-Flandler | khaskin@bgu.ac.il | Tel. no. 08-6479224 (On leave) please contact Hanit Shemesh Boterashvili | shemeshb@bgu.ac.il
Health Sciences - Nourit Inbar | medlib4u@bgu.ac.il | Tel: 08-6479892
