Journal Ranking: Journal Ranking

Librarians  

Please contact an expert librarian from the library staff list

For general inquiries: 

Tel: 08-6461111/2

Email: yaatz@bgu.ac.il

Whatsapp    

Facebook  

Mail: P.O.Box 653, Beer-sheva 8410501, Israel

• Academic journals are ranked based on the extent to which the articles published in them influence and shape further research efforts, and the work of other scholars in a particular field of study.
• The degree of influence is measured by quantitative measures that represent the average number of citations a journal has received over a certain period of time.
• These metrics allow comparison between different journals in the same research field (discipline) where a high metric value indicates a journal whose published articles have received many citations and have had an impact on the research community in that field.

Some databases provide various impact metrics:

• Journal Impact Factor (JIF) is the metric from the Journal Citation Reports (JCR) database, derived from publications in the Web of Science database.
• The SCImago Journal Rank (SJR) and CiteScore metrics are calculated based on publications found in the Scopus database.
• Google Scholar Metrics are based on the Google Scholar search engine.

The Importance of Journal Ranking

• Journal rankings serve as an important tool in assessing the impact and relevance of academic research.
• They reflect the leading journals in a particular research field.
• Citation analysis supports research efforts, identifies leading scientists, and tracks connections between research groups.
• Ranking helps researchers select journals with the highest impact.
• Journal ranking assists libraries build collections and make decisions on journal acquisitions.

The following points should be considered:

• Self-citations within articles, intended solely to elevate the journal's ranking, do not accurately reflect its quality.
• A citation-based ranking system tends to favor older journals, as their prolonged presence in the field allows them to accumulate more citations.

For more detailed information about globally distributed journals visit the ULRICH'S bibliographic database.

Altmetrics

A term defining new ranking metrics that consider online reader behavior. Altmetrics are intended to complement rather than replace traditional metrics.

PlumX Metrics, an Elsevier tool, serves as an example of altmetrics incorporated into the Scopus database.

It provides article-level data on:

• Usage - clicks, downloads, views, etc.
• Captures - bookmarks, favorites, readers, etc.
• Mentions - blog posts, comments, news media, etc.
• Social media - shares, likes, tweets, etc.
• Citations - citation indexes

For further details about Altmetrics, visit the Plum Analytics website.