Psychology: Recommended Books

With a focus on the most current research related to stress, psychosocial issues, and chronic disorders, this edition covers both the scientific progress of health psychology, as well as its important real-life applications. Research is presented with practical stories, written so that any reader can quickly identify how best to lead a healthier life.

A comprehensive overview of abnormal psychology, with DSM-5 coverage throughout
Abnormal Psychology provides a comprehensive and engaging introduction to the primary psychological disorders studied within the discipline.

Thoughtfully organized, Physiology of Behavior provides a scholarly yet accessible portrait of the dynamic interaction between biology and behavior. This revision incorporates the latest discoveries in biological psychology, and includes over 400 new references. Integrated for the first time with the new MyPsychLab and the Virtual Brain, the 11th edition offers students an immersive and engaging multi-media experience.

One of our bestselling handbooks, The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research in Psychology, is back for a second edition, with updated chapters and three new chapters introduced on Thematic Analysis, Interpretation and Netnography.

The second edition of this handbook offers a comprehensive exploration of techniques used to understand human cognition, emotions, and behavior across multiple volumes. Volume 1 covers research design, planning, measurement techniques, and assessment of measure trustworthiness, with significant updates to several key areas.

The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR) includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. It features a new disorder, Prolonged Grief Disorder, as well as codes for suicidal behavior available to all clinicians of any discipline without the requirement of any other diagnosis.

An award-winning author team challenges students to think critically about the concepts, controversies, and applications of social psychology using abundant tools, both in text and online. (NEW) infographics examine important topics like social class, social media effects, and research methodology. InQuizitive online assessment reinforces fundamental concepts, and PowerPoints, test questions, and (NEW) Concept Videos, will help you create the best course materials in the shortest amount of time.

Using cutting edge psychotherapeutic techniques and neurophysiologic principles, Hidden From View explains how the brain developsneural pathways that cause symptoms, such as headaches, irritable bowel andbladder syndromes, fibromyalgia, fatigue, insomnia, and neck and back pain. Itillustrates powerful emotion focused interviewing techniques to both detect andtreat PPD.