Psychology: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

An essential reference work for any student studying psychology for the first time, A Student's Dictionary of Psychology and Neuroscience (Seventh Edition) provides over 2,500 definitions of complex concepts in clear and accessible language alongside helpful diagrams.

The Cambridge Dictionary of Psychology is the first and only dictionary that surveys the broad discipline of psychology from an international, cross-cultural, and interdisciplinary focus. Entries related to culture, as well as those from all domains of psychology, are written with the broadest possible audience in mind.

This is a new translation of the classic 1932 Dictionary by the author, for which Freud wrote a Preface praising the "precision and correctness" of the author's work and calling it a "fine achievement". The dictionary is not only an important source of information about psychoanalysis in Vienna in the 1930s but is also an insight into its author, as movingly attested by the 'Epilogue' to this edition written by his daughter Verena Sterba Michels, son-in-law Robert Michels, and grand-daughter Katherine J. Michels.

The one thousand entries in the Encyclopaedia provide the best single volume coverage of psychoanalysis available. This book features both contributors and entries reflecting the various disciplines such as Feminism, Literature, Philosophy, Art and Anthropology that have contributed to the development of psychoanalysis or been influenced by it.

Comprehensive in breath and textbook in depth, the second edition – with entries presented in easy-to-access A to Z format – serves as a reference repository of knowledge in the field as well as a frequently updated conduit of new research and knowledge long before such information trickles down to standard textbooks. In addition to the original 730 entries, the new edition adds more than 200 new essays as well as updates to many other entries.

This encyclopedia comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields.