Library Guides List: Linguistics: Databases

Contact Us

Valerie Khaskin-Felendler 08-6479224 khaskin@bgu.ac.il Head Librarian, Humanities Reading Room Foreign Literature & Linguistics, Philosophy
Anna Yevelson-Shorser 08-6461420 annay@bgu.ac.il Arts Audiovisual Collection
Sabina Abdulaev 08-6461419 abdulaev@bgu.ac.il Middle East Studies
Shir Shmuely 08-6461420 shirshmu@bgu.ac.il Hebrew Literature Hebrew Language
E-Mail: ruach@bgu.ac.il Humanities Reading Room (3rd Floor)

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
International literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Linguistic Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
Contains detailed bibliographical descriptions of linguistic publications on general and language-specific theoretical linguistics. While the bibliography aims to cover all languages of the world, particular attention is given to the inclusion of publications on endangered and lesser-studied languages.
Oxford Bibliographies: Linguistics This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliography combined with an encyclopedia in the subject of linguistics.

CORE
CORE (COnnecting REpositories) provides a comprehensive bibliographic database of the world’s scholarly literature, collecting and indexing research from repositories and journals. It is, to our knowledge, also the world’s largest collection of full text open access research papers. CORE is a not-for-profit service dedicated to the open access mission.

Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics Online offers a systematic and comprehensive treatment of all aspects of the history and study of the Hebrew language from its earliest attested form to the present day.
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics This link opens in a new window
The online full-text edition of the fourteen-volume print encyclopedia is fully searchable. It features linked cross-references between articles within the work, thematically grouped articles, editorially defined links to external linguistic resources, and regular updates.

LINGUIST List
The LINGUIST List is an online resource for the academic field of linguistics, including a mailing list and a forum where academic linguists can discuss linguistic issues and exchange information.
World Atlas of Language Structures
WALS is a large database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials (such as reference grammars) by a team of 55 authors.
Glossary of Linguistic Terms
A glossary of terms used in the morphological, syntactic and pragmatic analysis of text.
Etymonline - Online Etymology Dictionary
A free online dictionary, originally compiled by Douglas R. Harper, that provides reliable accounts of the origin and history of English words.
Ethnologue
An annual reference publication in print and online that provides statistics and other information on the living languages of the world. It is the world's most comprehensive catalogue of languages.